What's On?
Events & Activities Summer 2022

VARIOUS LOCATIONS

Tour of Britain: 7 Sep, cycle race day four – Redcar to Helmsley via the North York Moors

Heritage Open Days: 9–18 Sep, www.heritageopendays.org.uk Great Big Green Week 2022: 24 Sep–2 Oct, https://greatbiggreenweek.com

 

NATIONAL PARK

www.northyorkmoors.org.uk

  • Festival of Green: all July, curated by Carers Plus Yorkshire, celebrating green social prescribing (connecting people to outdoors for physical and mental wellbeing), venues including Sutton Bank National Park Centre, NYMR and Ryedale Folk Museum. Free events but booking required – see programme on NP website.

  • Colourful Fingers Trail: Until 24 Jul, Danby Lodge NP Centre

  • Exhibition – A Woodland Sanctuary, 16 Jul–12 Sep, Inspired by… gallery (see page 149)

  • Nature on the Bank: 17 & 27 Jul, various events at Sutton Bank as part of NP Festival of Green (free, but booking required)

  • Woodland Finders Trail: 25–21 Aug, Danby Lodge & Sutton Bank NP Centres

  • Have-a-go Archery: 29 Aug, Danby Lodge NP Centre

  • Mindful Month: 1–30 Sep, feel invigorated in nature with events and activities to rejuvenate your spirits

  • Fringe Dark Skies Festival: 21–30 October. See www.northyorkmoors.org.uk for details, more events, workshops and guided walks

 

WHITBY

‘Scoresby’s Arctic’ Exhibition: Until 4 Dec, Whitby Museum, https://whitbymuseum.org.uk 

‘Sea People’s – Navigating the Pacific’: Annual exhibition at Captain Cook Memorial Museum, www.cookmuseumwhitby.co.uk

Whitby Steampunk Weekend: 22–24 Jul, Whitby Pavilion, www.wswofficial.com

Whitby Ahoy! Annual Sea Music Festival: 30–31 July, sea shanties, https://greatnorthfolk.com

Yorkshire Day: 1 Aug, 11am–5pm, folk music at the Bandstand, Whitby

Whitby Traction Engine Rally: 5–7 Aug, Hawsker, Whitby

Dippy Craft & Gift Fair: 6 Aug, Whitby Pavilion, www.whitbypavilion.co.uk

Whitby Regatta: 13–15 Aug, www.whitbyregatta.co.uk

Whitby Folk Week: 20–26 Aug, www.whitbyfolk.co.uk

‘Dracula!’ performances at Whitby Abbey: 23–21 Aug (weekends only), www.english-heritage.org.uk 

‘Vikings!' at Whitby Abbey: 27–29 Aug, www.english-heritage.org.uk

Whitby Beer Festival: 28–31 Jul, at Whitby Mission & Seafarers Centre, in aid of Whitby District Lions, www.facebook.com/Whitbybeerfestival

Whitby 60’s Spectacular: 23–25 Sep, Whitby, www.whitby-live.com

Fish & Ships Festival: 24–25 Sep, Whitby, www.discoveryorkshirecoast.com

Whitby Goth Weekend: 28–30 Oct, Whitby, www.whitbygothweekend.co.uk

Tomorrow’s Ghosts Festival: 28–29 Oct, 6.30pm, Whitby Pavilion, www.whitbypavilion.co.uk

 

BORROWBY

Borrowby Show: 30 Jul, Borrowby, Near Thirsk, https://borrowbyshow.co.uk

 

CASTLETON

Castleton, Danby & District Bowling Club: every Thursday during summer, 6.30pm. Bowls are available; flat-soled shoes are required.   All ages welcome. Phone Ann Watson on 01287 660577 for more information.

Castleton Show: 10 Sep, www.facebook.com/castletonshow

 

DANBY

Danby Show: 10 Aug, www.danbyshow.co.uk

 

EGTON & EGTON BRIDGE

Egton Bridge Gooseberry Show: 2 Aug, the oldest surviving gooseberry show in the country, www.egtongooseberryshow.org.uk

Egton Show: 24 Aug, www.facebook.com/egtonshow

 

FARNDALE

Farndale Show: 29 Aug, www.farndale.community/farndale-show

 

GLAISDALE

‘All Lies’, written and directed by Alan Ayckbourn: 4–27 Aug, Esk Valley Theatre, www.eskvalleytheatre.co.uk 

‘Macbeth’ with Northumberland Theatre Company: 8 Oct, Robinson Institute, Tickets £10; email valleynews@basementpress.com

Jamie’s Gym ‘The Ultimate Workout’: Circuit training tailored to your needs, Mondays 7.30–8.30pm, £5, Robinson Institute; email activities@eskmoorscaring.org

 

GOATHLAND

Goathland Village Show: 13 Aug, 80th anniversary Tannahill Weavers at the Goathland Hut: 18 Sep, concert 3–5pm, www.facebook.com/whitbyfolkforum

 

GREAT AYTON

Fletchers Farm Fest: sadly now cancelled: www.fletchersfarmfest.co.uk

 

GROSMONT

‘Music for a While’: 6 Aug, 3pm, Singer Megan Moffitt with guitarist John Forsyth

Annual Steam Gala, North Yorkshire Moors Railway: 22–25 Sep 

Railway in Wartime: 2022 event cancelled in light of conflict in Ukraine

 

HINDERWELL

Hinderwell Show: 5 Aug, https://hinderwellshow.org.uk

HUTTON LE HOLE

Ryedale Open Studios: 23 Jul–5 Sep, celebrating Ryedale Open Studios artists and their work, free entry to art exhibition, www.ryedalefolkmuseum.co.uk

History Walk Through: Re-enactors at Ryedale Folk Museum: 27–28 Aug, www.ryedalefolkmuseum.co.uk

 

KILDALE

Kildale Show: 3 Sep, https://kildaleshow.com

 

LEALHOLM

Yoga Classes with Nadia: Tue afternoons, Ley Hall, 1–2.30pm, activities@eskmoorscaring.org

Lealholm Show: 3 Sep, www.facebook.com/ Lealholmwhitbynorthyorkshire

 

LOFTUS

Guided Walks and Health Walks: Loftus Accord walking group, free walks, no booking needed: www.facebook.com/LoftusAWG 

 

LYTHE

St Oswald’s Church Exhibition: 5–7 Aug, artefacts connected with the parish over the years, www.stoswaldslythe.org.uk

 

OSMOTHERLEY

Osmotherley Show: 6 Aug, www.osmotherleyshow.co.uk

 

ROBIN HOOD’S BAY

Robin Hood’s Bay Victorian Weekend: 3–4 Dec, www.facebook.com/RobinHoodsBay VictorianWeekend

 

ROSEDALE ABBEY

Make Bake and Grow event: 10 Aug, Turret Field, Rosedale; flower and veg, baking, handicrafts and children’s classes (no Rosedale Show this year).

 

RYEDALE / HELMSLEY / PICKERING / MALTON / THIRSK /  NORTHALLERTON

Ryedale Festival: 15–31 Jul, Music and arts events in historic churches and buildings around Ryedale, https://ryedalefestival.com

Ryedale Open Studios: 23–24, 30–31 Jul, www.ryedaleopenstudios.com

Ryedale Jazz Festival: 23–29 Jul, Pickering, https://ryedalejazz.com/10th-ryedale-trad-jazz-festival

Ryedale Show: 26 Jul, Helmsley, www.ryedaleshow.co.uk

Explore Beadlam Roman Villa: 29 Jul (also 9 Sep), starting at Helmsley Archaeology Store followed by a site tour of Beadlam Roman Villa, https://englishheritage.seetickets.com/tour/ beadlam-roman-villa

Thornton le Dale Show: 3 Aug, www.thorntonledale.com

North York Moors Chamber Music Festival: 13–27 Aug, www.northyorkmoorsfestival.com

Castle Howard Proms: 20 Aug, Castle Howard, www.castlehoward.co.uk/whats-on

Bilsdale Show: 27 Aug, Chop Gate, https://bilsdaleshow.co.uk

Malton Harvest Food Festival: 27–29 Aug, 150 food stalls, cookery theatre, live music

Autumn Plant Fair: 11 Sep, Scampston Walled Garden, near Malton, www.scampston.co.uk

North Yorkshire County Show, Near Bedale: 11 Sep, www.northyorkshireshow.co.uk

Marathon Du Malton: 18 Sep, Malton, www.racespace.com/gb/mark-brayshaw/marathon-du-malton-4

World Jam Festival, Helmsley: 25 Sep, https://worldjamfestival.com

 

SALTBURN

Saltburn Folk Festival: 11–14 Aug, www.saltburnfolkfestival.com

Saltburn Farmers’ Market: 13 Aug & 10 Sep, 9am–2pm, https://redcarcleveland.co.uk

 

SCARBOROUGH

‘Brief Encounter’: 22–27 Aug, Emma Rice’s adaptation of Noël Coward's timeless tale, Stephen Joseph Theatre, www.sjt.uk.com

‘Family Album’: 2 Sep–1 Oct, world premiere of Alan Ayckbourn’s 87th new play, www.sjt.uk.com

Yorkshire Fossil Festival: 16–18 Sep, Scarborough, https://yorkshirefossilfestival.co.uk

 

STAINTONDALE

Miniature Railway Charity Fundraising Open Days: 7 Aug & 4 Sep, garden of Lisa and Alan Williams, Staintondale (follow the ribbons from the Falcon on the A171), tea/coffee and cake, tombola, train rides.

 

STAITHES

Staithes Festival: cancelled for the foreseeable future: www.staithesfestival.com

 

STOKESLEY

Stokesley Show: 17 Sep, www.stokesleyshow.co.uk

 

TEESSIDE, GUISBOROUGH, REDCAR & CLEVELAND

‘Midsummer Night’s Dream’: 12 Aug, 7pm, award-winning outdoor theatre with Illyria, Gisborough Priory, https://redcarcleveland.co.uk

Kirkleatham Heritage Tour: 14 Aug & 11 Sep, 2pm, https://redcarcleveland.co.uk

‘Much Ado About Nothing’ by William Shakespeare: 31 Aug, 6.30pm, presented by Folksy Theatre, open air in courtyard or Town Hall Crypt if weather is bad, Middlesbrough Town Hall (www.middlesbroughtownhall.co.uk)

Snake Davis: 1 Sep, 7.30pm, virtuoso saxophonist with his four-piece band, Middlesbrough Town Hall (www.middlesbroughtownhall.co.uk)

Redcar & Cleveland’s Summer Walking Festival: 10–18 Sep, https://redcarcleveland.co.uk/enjoy/redcar-cleveland-summer-walking-festival

Festival of Thrift, Kirkleatham: 24–25 Sep, the UK’s national festival of sustainability, celebrating its 10th anniversary with a ‘common wealth’ theme, www.festivalofthrift.co.uk

Classical Cafe: 2 Oct, 3pm, The Kildale Quartet led by Peter Gulbis, Middlesbrough Town Hall (www.middlesbroughtownhall.co.uk)